Holiday Calendar

The following days are paid holidays for staff.

2017

  • New Year’s Day (observed) - Monday, Jan. 2, 2017
  • Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday - Monday, Jan. 16
  • Presidents' Day - Monday, Feb. 20
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 29
  • Independence Day - Tuesday, July 4
  • Labor Day - Monday, Sept. 4
  • Columbus Day - Monday, Oct. 9
  • Veterans Day (observed) - Friday, Nov. 10
  • Thanksgiving - Thursday, Nov. 23
  • Friday after Thanksgiving - Friday, Nov. 24
  • Christmas Eve 1/2 day (observed) - Friday, Dec. 22
  • Christmas Day - Monday, Dec. 25
  • Winter Recess – Dec. 26 to Dec. 29

2018

  • New Year’s Day - Monday, Jan. 1, 2018
  • Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday - Monday, Jan. 15
  • Presidents' Day - Monday, Feb. 19
  • Memorial Day - Monday, May 28
  • Independence Day - Wednesday, July 4
  • Labor Day - Monday, Sept. 3
  • Columbus Day - Monday, Oct. 8
  • Veterans Day - Monday, Nov. 12 (observed)
  • Thanksgiving - Thursday, Nov. 22
  • Friday after Thanksgiving - Friday, Nov. 23
  • Christmas Eve 1/2 day - Monday, Dec. 24 
  • Christmas Day - Tuesday, Dec. 25
  • Winter Recess – Dec. 26 to Dec. 31

The paid time off policies summarized on these pages apply to administrative and professional staff; overtime eligible, non-bargaining unit staff; and employees covered by HUCTW, except as noted. Members of other bargaining units should consult their union contract for time off policies. Faculty members should contact their dean’s or faculty affairs office. All paid time off is prorated for part-time schedules.