Homepage

2019 Nov 03

Pinning and Learning: Cicadas

11:15am to 12:15pm

Location: 

Harvard Museum of Natural History, 26 Oxford Street

Instructor: Mickey Alice Kwapis

Explore large tropical insects from an evolutionary standpoint with a hands-on look at gargantuan species! Utilizing sustainably sourced empress cicadas (8"+ wingspan), students will learn about insect development and anatomy by preparing and preserving specimens of their own. Each student will get to keep a set of illustrated instructions, tools, and their own finished specimen to display at home. With newfound knowledge, students will also get to explore the arthropod gallery to take in all of the subtle nuances of Earth's invertebrate species...

Read more about Pinning and Learning: Cicadas
2019 Nov 03

Entomology Workshop Pinning and Learning: Butterflies

10:00am to 11:00am

Location: 

Harvard Museum of Natural History, 26 Oxford Street

Instructor: Mickey Alice Kwapis

Learn about the anatomy and life cycles of insects and prepare your own beautiful butterfly specimen for display. Participants will explore the wild world of insects through a visit to the arthropod gallery, accompanied by an activity where you will learn to prepare and preserve a butterfly that you get to display in your home. Tools and illustrated instructions are provided for students to keep.

This is a fun and engaging activity that can be enjoyed by anyone, regardless of age.

Students under 12 must be accompanied by an...

Read more about Entomology Workshop Pinning and Learning: Butterflies
2019 Oct 06

Reptile Day

11:00am to 1:00pm

Location: 

Harvard Museum of Natural History, 26 Oxford Street

Celebrate reptiles! Join Harvard students from the Harvard College Conservation Society for a variety of reptile themed activities including a scavenger hunt, storytime, and crafts. Come learn about the history and diversity of reptiles, and why they need to be conserved! All ages are welcome.

Click here to learn more.

Read more about Reptile Day
2019 Oct 03

Learn to Bluebikes!

11:00am to 12:30pm

Location: 

Science Center Plaza

Harvard and Bluebikes are hosting a free seminar to brush on your biking skills and learn more about biking in an urban setting. Open to Harvard affiliates of all biking skill levels! This seminar will be led by a MassBike instructor with an optional ride to end the session.

Bring your own or Bluebikes bicycles and helmets will be provided. Please RSVP to reserve your bike. 20 Bikes to be provided.

Questions? Please reach out to commuterchoice@harvard.edu

Click...

Read more about Learn to Bluebikes!
2019 Dec 03

Crimson Toastmasters Club

Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Jul 07 2020 except Tue Oct 22 2019, Tue Oct 29 2019, Tue Nov 12 2019, Tue Nov 26 2019, Tue Dec 10 2019, Tue Dec 24 2019, Tue Dec 31 2019, Tue Jan 14 2020, Tue Jan 28 2020, Tue Feb 11 2020, Tue Feb 25 2020, Tue Mar 10 2020, Tue Mar 24 2020, Tue Mar 31 2020, Tue Apr 14 2020, Tue Apr 28 2020, Tue May 12 2020, Tue May 26 2020, Tue Jun 09 2020, Tue Jun 23 2020, Tue Jun 30 2020.
12:30pm to 1:30pm

Location: 

Room 610, 6th Floor, 124 Mt Auburn Street, Cambridge, MA

We are a group of Harvard University staff, graduate students, and faculty members who meet to practice public speaking.  Meet every first and third Tuesday of each month from 12:30 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.  Learn more.

We invite anyone from the Harvard community to visit our upcoming meetings. Read the FAQs and How It Works.

2019 Oct 23

TIAA-CREF Webinar: Special Topic - Understanding Medicare

12:00pm

Location: 

Online

Paying for healthcare in retirement is a critical part of financial planning, and it is important to understand how Medicare operates and what choices you have. This webinar will review aspects of Medicare including eligibility and what plans are available to you.

Visit www.tiaa-cref.org/VE to reserve your place for this webinar.

2019 Oct 16

TIAA-CREF Webinar: Special Topic: Market-proof your retirement

3:00pm

Location: 

Online

In retirement—and the years leading up to it—protecting your savings becomes just as important as growing it. Join us to learn how to create your own personal pension with TIAA Traditional, offered by Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association of America (TIAA).

Visit www.tiaa-cref.org/VE to reserve your place for this webinar.

Pages